About Thrissur Circle

In pursuance of recommendations of the Expert group on Archaeology (Ram Niwas Committee, 1989), para 67 Chapter XIII Thrissur Circle was formed in 1997. Thrissur Circle of Archaeological Survey of India was established in April 1997, separated from Chennai Circle with the Monuments/Sites in Kerala and adjoining districts of Tamilnadu viz. Kanyakumari, Tirunelveli and Nilgiri.

There are totally 28 monuments and 9 sites protected under the purview of Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958 and Rules 1959 are under the administrative control of the Circle. Most of this monuments and sites were under the protection of erstwhile states of Cochin and Travancore.

The monuments protected include Temples, Jaina monuments, a church, Forts and a Palace. Most of the Temples in Kerala are wooden edifies with granite or laterite plinth. The inner walls of the Mattancherry palace and outer walls of temples are generally covered with valuable mural paintings carried out in traditional Kerala style, while the sites are megalithic in nature.

Meet the Team


Superintending Archaeologist (incharge)

Phone: +91 487 2365616,
Fax: +91 487 2360112.

E-mail: circlethr.asi@gmail.com

E-mail: circlethrissur.asi@gov.in

Shri. G. Elanchezian

Deputy Superintending Archaeological Engineer

Shri. Rajan K P

Assistant Superintending Archaeological Engineer

Smt. Darsana Pazhavoor R

Assistant Superintending Archaeological Chemist (Kakkanad)

Smt. Ranimole S J

Assistant Archaeologist

Ms. Ganga Devi M R

Assistant Archaeologist


Assistant Archaeologist

Shri. Suresh Kumar L


Smt. K. Lekshmi


Shri. Rakes L R


Shri. Subash Kannan K

Conservation Assistant

Shri. Sasikumar B

Jr. Administrative officer

Shri. Bahuleyan K


Shri. Ramachandran E Nair

Upper Division Clerk

Shri. V G Venu

Upper Division Clerk

Shri. Anil Kumar V S

Upper Division Clerk

Smt. Kavitha C S

Upper Division Clerk

Shri. Aravind V K

Lower Division Clerk

Shri. Ashish Kumar Meena

Lower Division Clerk

Shri. Shajan T K

Jr. Store Keeper

Shri. M. Mani

Library & Information Assistant

Shri. R. Kalaiselvan

Senior Conservation Assistant, Thrissur Sub-Circle

Shri. Umesh T N

Senior Conservation Assistant,
Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi & Nagarcoil Sub-Circle

Shri. M Lokesha

Conservation Assistant,Palakkad Sub-Circle

Shri. Rishikesh P

Conservation Assistant, Kannur Sub-Circle

Smt. Sheeba N T

Asst. Archaeological Chemist

Shri. Rahul P

Assistant Archaeological Chemist – Circle office Thrissur

Shri. C. Kumaran

Assistant Superintending Archaeologist [Museum]

Smt. Vijimol. P.K

Assistant Archaeologist

Shri. M. G. Oonnikrishnan Nair

Upper Division Clerk